低電壓訊號(LVS)

SD 6.0規範新功能 ─ 低電壓訊號

晶圓代工廠一直不斷地微調系統單晶片(SOC)並將其整合在智慧型手機等設備的電路技術中,最近已可達到7nm-10nm。新的晶片設計將使智慧型手機能夠在更低的功耗下提供更高的性能。當晶片的設計限制在1.8V訊號時,更能體現出晶片的卓越處理能力與較低的電壓需求。

 

自從SD標準於2000年推出後,SD記憶卡一直使用3.3V的訊號介面。透過SD 3.0規範,把1.8V訊號加入到UHS-I匯流排模式中(可移動的單端介面)。UHS-I採用1.8V訊號,因為它能適當的調配電壓快速上升與下降的時間,也能降低電磁干擾。但是,(由於)UHS記憶卡仍然需要3.3V訊號來初始化記憶卡,因此主機也需具備支援3.3V的訊號。當主機設備符合3.0規範並能提供1.8V電壓,則可選擇UHS-II可作為低電壓介面的另一種方案。因此,需要比UHS-I更高效能的應用程式,則可選擇UHS-II。

 

SD 6.0規範推出了低電壓訊號的記憶卡 (LVS card),可支援 3.3V或1.8V訊號,並具有自動偵測主機運行的訊號層級機制。可與新的晶片設計相吻合,同時也保留了傳統3.3V訊號主機的向下兼容模式。
目前,新規範允許低電壓訊號(LVS)主機設備在LVS記憶卡通電後直接運行UHS-I 1.8V模式。

低電壓介面可支援的卡片種類

  • LVS記憶卡除兼容傳統主機設備外,也能兼容UHS-II與UHS-III主機設備。表1簡述了SD 6.0規範所定義的LVS記憶卡種類。

LVS種類 描述

LV50

支持50MB/s UHS-I卡的SD記憶卡

LV104

支持104MB/s UHS-I卡的SD記憶卡

LV156

支持156MB/s UHS-I卡的SD記憶卡

LV624

支持624MB/s UHS-I卡的SD記憶卡

表1:LVS卡種類

 

LVS卡設計成可以使用3.3V或1.8V信號電壓來啟動命令/回應溝通。選擇哪個訊號電壓取決於在接通電源後是否執行了“LV識別序列”的特殊過程。具體而言,透過檢查SDCLK針腳上的特定“clock period”和信號線的“clock edge”來識別LVS主機是否連接。如果識別成功,則LVS卡選擇1.8V訊號;否則,會選擇3.3V訊號。另一方面,LVS主機可以根據LV識別序列中的信號高度來判斷LVS卡是否被連接。

主機和卡的組合

  • 圖1顯示了主機和卡組合:

    • LVS卡能完整向下兼容。它不僅可兼容3.3V訊號的傳統主機,也可兼容於只使用1.8V訊號的LVS主機。
    • LVS主機基本上只能使用新的LVS卡。然而,如果主機有支援UHS-II,使用者也能使用傳統的UHS-II卡。

LV符號讓使用者能識別可支援LV介面的SD產品。支援LVS的主機必須在產品、包裝盒或使用手冊上標註LV符號。有支援LVS裝置的使用者必須使用有標註LVS符號的記憶卡。另一方面,LVS記憶卡可使用在任何主機產品上,包含了未標有LV符號的主機。

 


圖1:主機和卡組合

Low Voltage Signaling

Low Voltage Signaling – Another new SD 6.0 specification feature

Silicon foundries have been fine-tuning system on a chip (SOC) integrated circuit technology for use in devices such as smartphones, with recent progress pushing the powerful chips to the 7-10 nanometer range. These SOC developments will enable smartphones to offer higher performance with less power consumption. Designing SOC’s, which use finer processes and lower voltage supply, is easier when restricted to 1.8V signaling.

 

SD memory cards have used a 3.3V signaling interface since the SD standard was introduced in 2000 and through SD Specification 3.0, when 1.8V signaling was added with the UHS-I bus mode, the ultimate removable single-ended interface. UHS-I adopted 1.8V signaling because it is suitable for faster rise/fall time and lower electromagnetic interference. However, UHS memory cards still require 3.3V signaling to initialize the card so hosts need to support 3.3V signaling, too. UHS-II is another option for a low-voltage interface for host devices supporting that specification and offering 1.8V power supply. Therefore, UHS-II is a solution for higher performance applications which require more than UHS-I performance.

 

Now, SD Specification 6.0 introduces the Low Voltage Signaling (LVS) memory card that may support either 3.3V or 1.8V signaling with an auto detection mechanism of the host’s operating signaling level. It coincides with new SOC designs while keeping full backwards compatibility to legacy 3.3V signaling hosts. The new specification now lets LVS host devices start in UHS-I 1.8V mode directly after power up on the LVS card.

Low Voltage Interface Supported Card Types

  • LVS memory cards are compatible with conventional host devices, and may also support UHS-II and UHS-III host devices. Table 1 shows LVS card types defined by SD Specification 6.0.

LVS Types Description

LV50

SD Memory cards supporting 50 MB/s   UHS-I Card

LV104

SD Memory cards supporting 104 MB/s  UHS-I Card

LV156

SD Memory cards supporting 156 MB/s  UHS-II Card

LV624

SD Memory cards supporting 624 MB/s  UHS-III Card

Table 1: LVS Card Types

 

LVS cards are designed to start command/response communication either with 3.3V signaling modes or 1.8V signaling modes. An identification sequence after power up, called LVS Identification, is used to select either signaling mode. LVS cards can identify LVS hosts via the LVS Identification by checking the specified clock period on SDCLK pin and signal lines level at clock edge. If an LVS host is identified, the LVS card selects 1.8V signaling; otherwise, it selects 3.3V signaling. An LVS host can identify an LVS card by checking the specified card signal level during the LVS Identification.

Host and Card Combination

  • Figure 1 shows host and card combinations:

    • The LVS card is fully backwards compatible. It is usable either by conventional hosts using 3.3V signaling or by LVS hosts that operate only with 1.8V signaling.
    • An LVS host may operate only with the new LVS cards. However, conventional UHS-II cards may also operate if a UHS- II mode is available by the host and chosen by the user.

An LV symbol identifies LV Interface supported SD products for users. An LVS host will bear the LV symbol somewhere on the product, package or manual. LVS device users need to use a corresponding SD memory card with an LV symbol for their LV-marked device. On the other hand, an LVS card is usable by any host, including hosts that do not carry the LV symbol.

 


Figure 1: Host and Card Combination